Council of Graduate Deans (CGD)

​Graduate education is a shared activity, and the quality of graduate programs is a shared value. As such, consultative groups are in place within our academic community to ensure there is appropriate discussion before key policy and regulation recommendations are made to the Graduate Education Council (GEC) and subsequent levels of governance. While Graduate Education Council is the highest governance body of the School of Graduate Studies, the Council of Graduate Deans (CGD) is one such consultative group.

Since 2006, the CGD meets on a regular basis (monthly during the academic year) for information exchange, discussion, and consultation. The CGD is a forum for the discussion of changes to policies and procedures​ and of emerging issues affecting graduate education. The perspective brought by the various faculty graduate vice-deans is significant, given the size and complexity of graduate education at the University of Toronto.

Meeting Schedule 2021-2022

  • September 28, 2021
  • October 26, 2021
  • November 23, 2021
  • January 25, 2022
  • February 22, 2022
  • March 22, 2022
  • April 26, 2022
  • May 24, 2022
  • June 28, 2022

CGD Membership

The Council consists of the SGS Dean & Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education; the two SGS Vice-Deans; the Vice/Associate Deans (Graduate) from the multi- and single-department Faculties; the Vice-Deans Graduate of UTM and UTSC. In addition, the SGS staff serve as resources to the Council.​

2021-2022 Members

  • Joshua Barker, (Chair), Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education
  • Vina Goghari, Vice-Dean, Research and Program Innovation, School of Graduate Studies
  • Charmaine Williams, Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies
  • Julie Audet, Vice-Dean, Graduate Studies, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
  • David Burnes, Associate Dean, Academic, Factor Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
  • Ken Corts, Vice-Dean, Research Strategy and Resources, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
  • Carolyn Cummins, Director, Graduate Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Kathy DeCelles, Director, PhD Program, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
  • Dionne Gesink, Associate Dean, Graduate, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
  • Antoinette Handley, Vice-Dean, Graduate Education, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Ernie Lam, Associate Dean, Graduate Education, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Robert Levit, Associate Dean, Academic, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
  • Heather MacNeil, Associate Dean, Academic, Faculty of Information
  • Sarfaroz Niyozov, Acting Associate Dean, Programs, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
  • Justin Nodwell, Vice-Dean, Research and Graduate Education, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
  • Jeff Packman, Associate Dean, Graduate Education, Faculty of Music
  • Mary Silcox, Vice-Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Bryan Stewart, Acting Vice-Dean, Graduate, University of Toronto Mississauga
  • Ashley Stirling, Vice-Dean, Academic Affairs, Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • Malcolm Thorburn, Associate Dean, Graduate Program, Faculty of Law
  • Ann Tourangeau, Associate Dean (Academic), Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing


Dianne Heximer
Council Secretary